Mechanical Hearts

Hearts bleeding. 

I look at humanity 

and all I see are 

hearts bleeding oil. 

I sit here in the comfort of my home, 

warm and cuddled 

with my tears, 

and I am trying to understand. 

Trying 

so hard 

to have a whole heart.

A functioning,

heart.

All 

for the sake of 

us,

us

human

beings.
I had the privilege to sit with

a beautiful soul.

Comprehensive conversation 

and something of a

poetic partnership

between two minds.

Dancing lips,

saying so much 

more 

than words.

Because I hear something else.

A mechanical heart.

A living 

mechanical 

heart.
Whirring and spurring,

breathing hot air and

pumping 

warm oil.

Overworked,

rugged,

loud,

clashing,

clanging.

Banging away at an

uneven

tempo.

Oh god,

and 

the wiring.

A ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍l ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍l ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍o ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍v ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍e ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍r ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍t ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍h ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍e ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍p ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍l ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍a ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍c ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍e.
And my Hands,

bruised

and 

cut.

Shreds of skin making 

sense of moving parts.

Fumbling

and 

s ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍a ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍i ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍g.

 ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍h ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍k ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍n
And looking up.

Her eyes.

Her eyes begged for relief.

But her lips,

dancing lips,

said:
“Stop.”
And she smiled.
And with tears in my 

eyes.

I understood and 

let

go.

Put her bleeding heart back,

and stood behind her.

And time said:
“Stay.”
So I stayed.

For I wasn’t a 

mechanic of hearts.

I hadn’t the tools to repair,

a broke

 ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍n

mechanical heart.
But, my 

presence,

my presence had the precision

of a 

surgeon.

So my presence took the responsibility from

me.
And she smiled.

She 

smiled.
And the

overworked,

rugged,

loud,

clashing,

clanging,

banging

 ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍ ‍‍‍‍‍‍ ‍‍seized.

Leave a Reply

